Fire

The newest single of the upcoming (21th October) Best of- album Finest hour is – as I’m sure you all know already – this:


When I first heard it I was in a situation where I couldn’t listen to it almost at all and I didn’t like the video of it, so I made a hasty conclusion I might not like the whole song either. I almost wrote this song down into the 15 days of Gavin DeGraw -challenge when the question was about the least favorite Gavin song. But I didn’t, because I felt that I had no real opinion on it at all yet, so it would have been a really unjustified decision.

And I’m glad I didn’t.

I have been singing it nonstop lately. The more I hear it, the more I like it.

My mood started to change when I finally had courage enough to watch some live videos from the first public performance of the song. When I saw Gavin doing his thing with the new song, I felt that I might have been mislead by the lyric video that didn’t touch me at all. This one did.


The part of this song that makes me think this time is this:

“In this world he who stops won’t get anything he wants.”

I feel that there’s again a whole lot of life philosophy in this short sentence. At first this particular part made me shake my head in disbelief, I didn’t like the sound of it. But at this moment I agree with it. You know, you’ll have t try it if you’re ever really gonna know. You can’t stop. If you want something badly enough, you will get it if you just keep on chasing the dream.

You need to keep going. No matter what.

And Gavin seems to do just that.


Fire


Go get it!

Your turn now!

